May 13, 2011

Leaders Earn Honors at TexMed 2011

Congratulations to the TMA leaders who took home honors today at the annual meeting of the House of Delegates at TexMed 2011 in Houston:

Medical Student Section Awards
Chapter of the Year
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The chapter continued its efforts to provide community service and educational opportunities for students in 2010. The Class of 2013 logged more than 4,700 hours of service last year, and the Class of 2014 chalked up more than 2,700 hours in only one semester. Student of the Year Kim Hawthorne, The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. She was cited for service and leadership to the chapter. The student nominating her said Ms. Hawthorne "is reliable, effective, and passionate. Her name continues to be raised during discussions about future TMA leaders."
C. Frank Webber Award
Angela Siler-Fisher, MD, FACEP, Houston. Dr. Siler-Fisher, an emergency physician, was honored for being a strong advocate for student involvement in TMA.

Young Physician Section Awards
Young at Heart Award
William W. Hinchey, MD. He received the award for his commitment to organized medicine, his willingness and openness to bringing young physicians up the ranks.

PLUS: Last night at the TEXPAC 300 Club reception, Linda Swan Atkins of Houston received the June Bratcher Award for Political Action. Way to go, all!

No comments: