Jun 17, 2012

Bailey Wins; Evans and Lockhart Aim for AMA Posts

CHICAGO -- One familiar Texas face earned a rousing -- and unopposed -- reelection at the 2012 Annual Meeting of the American Medical Association House of Delegates Saturday as two other Texas physicians launched their campaigns for AMA leadership positions.

Former TMA President Sue Rudd Bailey, MD, was unanimously re-elected vice speaker of the American Medical Association House of Delegates. David Savage, a medical student from Houston, nominated Dr. Bailey.

Meanwhile on Saturday, Dallas pediatrician Carolyn Evans, MD, announces her candidacy for the AMA Association Board of Trustees. Four candidates, including one incumbent, are seeking two open spots on the board. And Asa Lockhart, MD, an anesthesiologist from Tyler, is one of five candidates, including one incumbent, running for two open seats on the AMA Council on Medical Service. Election Day is Tuesday, June 19, 2012.

No comments: