Nov 18, 2013

Two Outstanding Texans Honored by AMA

WASHINGTON, DC - Two stalwart members of the Texas family of medicine were honored at the AMA House of Delegates meeting.

AMA President Ardis Hoven, MD,
and Dr. Mattox

Houston trauma surgeon Ken Mattox, MD, received the 2013 AMA Benjamin Rush Award for Citizenship and Community Service. The award is given “for outstanding contributions to the community for citizenship and public service above and beyond the call of duty as a practicing physician.”

Dr. Mattox was recognized for his service in Houston’s medical response to several natural disasters, including Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in 2005 and Tropical Storm Allison in 2001. As part of the Katrina Joint Unified Command, Dr. Mattox helped form an “evacuation city” to house, treat, cloth, and feed 27,000 evacuees from New Orleans in only 18 hours.

The award is named for Benjamin Rush, an American Revolutionary from Pennsylvania, the only physician to sign the Declaration of Independence, and the surgeon general of the Continental Army. Dr. Rush is known as the “founder of American psychiatry.”

Marshall Cothran, CEO of the Travis County Medical Society and the Blood and Tissue Center of Central Texas, received the Medical Executive Meritorious Achievement Award. The AMA gives this award to a medical society executive who has provided exemplary and exceptional service that benefits and supports physicians in caring for their patients. This contribution “is exemplary beyond the normal scope of their duties or responsibilities.”

The AMA cited Marshall for “the financial turnaround of the Blood and Tissue Center of Central Texas [that] has benefitted patient care in Travis County and preserved the Center's independence as a local physician-governed asset to the community.”

No comments: