Nov 9, 2016

TEXPAC and Texas Physicians Enjoy Strong Election Results

This unique presidential election brought on many predictions and projections for who would win, but even as the polls closed last night, most voters were unsure of the likely outcome and how it would affect the races across the state.

As expected, voters flocked to the polls to vote for the next president. But while Texas set a record for early voter turnout, our Election Day turnout struggled — most Texans had cast their ballot early. TEXPAC’s concern was that the high volume of voters overall would affect our friends running for reelection in swing districts in counties such as Bexar, Dallas, Harris, and Travis. However, hard work and Donald Trump’s 54-percent win in Texas helped most of our friends claim victory last night.

Wins for Medicine

The election resulted in two HUGE wins for medicine. We have two new TMA/TEXPAC physicians elected to the Texas Legislature! Sen.-Elect Dawn Buckingham, MD, won Senate District 24 with 72.4 percent of the vote, and Rep.-Elect Tom Oliverson, MD, is the newest physician in the Texas House. He won House District 130 in the primary election last March and ran unopposed in the general election. TEXPAC endorsed both candidates in the primary and general elections, and we are thrilled to work with them in the upcoming legislative session.

TEXPAC had an extremely successful night. In total, 119 endorsed candidates for the Texas House, 16 for the Texas Senate, and four endorsed judicial candidates were victorious. Despite these successes, we did lose three friendly incumbents to their challengers:
  • In House District 117, Rick Galindo (R) was defeated by former State Rep. Philip Cortez (D). A Democrat usually holds the seat, and we expected this outcome, but we are sad to lose Rick Galindo. Fortunately, Philip Cortez is also a friend of medicine. He was a champion of our issues during the 83rd legislative session, and we are excited to work with him again.
  • In Harris County, we saw a similar scenario. In House District 144, another swing district, former State Rep. Mary Ann Perez reclaimed her seat from TEXPAC-endorsed Gilbert Pena (R).
  • The most disappointing loss for medicine last night, however, was in House District 107. Our good friend Kenneth Sheets (R) was defeated by his opponent Victoria Neave (D). This is a big loss for TEXPAC; Kenneth Sheets was a wonderful state representative, as well as a champion for medicine. He had a great relationship with the TMA Advocacy team and even better relations with his local physicians. He played a big role on the House Insurance Committee, and we are sad to lose him. His race was considered to be one of the toughest this cycle, and we worked hard to help him get reelected. I know he is grateful for the support we provided him as an organization.
Fortunately, most of our friends will be back to represent medicine in the 85th legislative session. We are extremely excited for our friendly incumbents to return, and we also are looking forward to working with the new members we supported. Below are the results for our priority races.


State Senate
SD 19 
Carlos Uresti (D) 
SD 20
Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa (D)
SD 24
Dawn Buckingham, MD (R)
72.4% (new member)

State House
HD 23 
Wayne Faircloth (R)
HD 33
Justin Holland (R)
67.8% (new member)
HD 41
Bobby Guerra (D)
HD 43
J.M. Lozano (R)
HD 47
Paul Workman (R)
HD 54
Scott Cosper (R)
54.8% (new member)
HD 64
Lynn Stucky (R)
61.6% (new member)
HD 65
Ron Simmons (R)
HD 102
Linda Koop (R)
HD 105
Rodney Anderson (R)
HD 107
Victoria Neave (D)
50.8% (new member)
HD 112
Angie Chen Button (R)
HD 113
Cindy Burkett (R)
HD 114
Jason Villalba (R)
HD 117
Philip Cortez (D)
51.4% (new member)
HD 118
Tomas Uresti (D)
55.2% (new member)
HD 134
Sarah Davis (R)
HD 136
Tony Dale (R)
HD 144
Mary Ann Perez (D)
60.2% (new member)
HD 149
Hubert Vo (D)

Texas Supreme Court 
Place 5
Paul Green (R)
Place 9
Eva Guzman (R)

Texas Medical Association Political Action Committee (TEXPAC) is a bi-partisan political action committee of TMA and affiliated with the American Medical Association Political Action Committee (AMPAC) for congressional contribution purposes only. Its goal is to support and elect pro-medicine candidates on both the federal and state level. Voluntary contributions by individuals to TEXPAC should be written on personal checks. Funds attributed to individuals or professional association (PAs) that would exceed federal contribution limits will be placed in the TEXPAC statewide account to support non-federal political candidates. Contributions are not limited to the suggested amounts. TEXPAC will not favor or disadvantage anyone based on the amounts or failure to make contributions. Contributions used for federal purposes are subject to the prohibitions and limitations of the Federal Election Campaign Act.
Contributions or gifts to TEXPAC or any CMS PAC are not deductible as charitable contributions or business expenses for Federal income tax purposes.
Federal law requires us to use our best efforts to collect and report the name, mailing address, occupation, and name of employer of individuals whose contributions exceed $200 in a calendar year. To satisfy this regulation, please include your occupation and employer information in the space provided. Contributions from a practice business account must disclose the name of the practice and the allocation of contributions for each contributing owner. Should you have any questions, please call TEXPAC at (512) 370-1361.
Paid for by the Texas Medical Association Political Action Committee
401 W. 15th St. Austin, TX 78701

1 comment:

Unknown said...
This comment has been removed by the author.